Scaling to different Resolutions

Sorry 'bout all the information request posts, folks. I'm trying to get back into game dev - I figure the best way is to look at all the places I got stuck or bogged down last time and go at it again...

My code, last time I started coding a basic "engine," got very complex very quickly when I tried to make all the positions relative to the window. I basically placed all objects on a scale of 0-100 with the idea that it would represent a percentage for position. I.e. the position { 3, 20 } would represent an object who's center was located 3% from the left, and 20% from the bottom (assuming an origin in the bottom-left). The idea was that scaling the window to different resolutions would be simple - Just modify the original parameters when switching resolutions and the code would do the rest.

Thing is, this got very confusing very quickly. When variables are abstract like that, they lose their meaning and visualising code's results (what I find to be a fundamental part of programming) becomes close to impossible. Think build-run-repeat. Think bad.

So how to people handle this? Does someone have a nice, tidy way of handling this? There must be an agreed-upon style...
Quote this message in a reply
Personally i use fixed window sizes regardless of monitor resoultion so 640x480 would be the upper left regardless of what size screen the user has selected. It may not be the best way to do it but its been working well for me so far.

Kyle Richter
DragonForged.com
Twitter: @kylerichter
blobbo Wrote:So how to people handle this? Does someone have a nice, tidy way of handling this? There must be an agreed-upon style...

Most old-school programmers will probably use pixel coordinates, because then it becomes obvious in screen-space where the object should be drawn (just lob off the fraction, or round it.) This is not really important if you are using OpenGL and don't care if your textured sprites end up on pixel boundaries or not.