New programmer w/problem

Apprentice
I'm new to programming with Cocoa and Xcode, (new being something like three months), and am having some problems with a project I am trying to build. Any help from experienced programmers out there would be most appreciated! I know these questions might be common or simple to fix or whatever else, but please remember I'm new to this sort of thing. (Don't laugh at me 'cause I'm new...)

Alright, question. For some reason, an NSPopUpButton on a puzzle window is returning a null string when I ask it this: [currentShapeType titleOfSelectedItem], where currentShapeType is the name of my button. I can't figure out why this is happening, and if anyone can give me advice that would be nice.

I will tell you what I did to find out that it is returning null: I have an NSObject subclass called PuzzleController, which has outlets to things like NSPopUpButtons in a nib file, which is where I instantiated the class PuzzleController. It has three major actions, and all three of these are triggered by NSPopUpButtons. One of these buttons, who happens to be contained in a hidden box, has its target set to the faulty action in my PuzzleController class: setCurrentShapeType: . This sets the currentType instance string to the string that is SUPPOSED to be returned by [currentShapeType titleOfSelectedItem]. Right after I call the method which sets [currentShapeType titleOfSelectedItem] to currentType, however, the currentType string returns null, which I confirmed by using the NSLog command. I know there can't be a problem with the assignment method because it works when I use something like [shape4 setCurrentType:@"Big shape"], so it must be the [currentShapeType titleOfSelectedItem] method, which leads to my first question: why is it returning null?