Newbie array trouble

that sound again
Unregistered

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie having a little trouble with an array in cocoa.

While not strictly for a game, this code is part of a project that is eventually going to be a simple videomixer, so I'm using openGL and various other game-related techniques. I've learned a lot from reading this forum and thought I'd ask here because you seem like a friendly and knowledgeable group.

The problem is an array of 16 strings that I need to be available to a couple of methods in a class called mediaPicker. The array doesn't seem to hold any values, I can't even get an [object description], and the debugger can't read it. I know the paths below are OK, as I can display the images they point to in an NSImageView using the variable filePath.

In MediaPicker.h (after the interface part) i have this declaration:

Code:
NSArray *mediaFilePaths;
In Mediapicker.m, I first initialize the array thus in awakeFromNib:

Code:
[mediaFilePaths arrayWithCapacity: 16];
I've also tried:

Code:
mediaFilePaths = [[NSArray alloc] arrayWithCapacity: 16];
In another method I do:

Code:
NSString *filePath = [fileNames objectAtIndex:0];
Which gets filenames from drag'n'drop catcher. Then I go on to do:

Code:
[mediaFilePaths replaceObjectAtIndex: mediaCount withObject: filePath];
And in another method I call another object

Code:
[Controller mediaSelected: [mediaFilePaths objectAtIndex:number]];
As I said, the array doesn't seem to exist or hold any objects, regardless of which method I look in with the debugger. I'm coming from a more procedural background, and the problem is probably a really stupid mistake due to not understanding Obj-C / OO in full.

I've access to a couple of O'Reilly books on beginning Cocoa, but I haven't been able to find the answer there. A little nudge in the right direction as to where I might want to look would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Quote this message in a reply
DoG
Correct would be to allocate a mutable array: