Need help porting an MMORPG client

Luminary
Posts: 5,143
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #31
/usr/include/gcc/darwin/default/ppc_intrinsics.h (#include <ppc_intrinsics.h>) has user-visible functions that expand to the load and store byte reversed instructions, as well as many other useful ones:

Code:
* Byte-Reversing Functions
*   __lhbrx    - Load Half Word Byte-Reverse Indexed
*   __lwbrx    - Load Word Byte-Reverse Indexed
*   __sthbrx   - Store Half Word Byte-Reverse Indexed
*   __stwbrx   - Store Word Byte-Reverse Indexed
Quote this message in a reply
nabobnick
Unregistered
 
Post: #32
After looking closer it looks like it's safe to use both CFByteOrder.h (Carbon) and NSByteOrder.h (Cocoa) functions instead of rolling your own. Both sets of functions are static inline and both sets use the optimized assembly code when available.
Quote this message in a reply
Raylborn
Unregistered
 
Post: #33
Yea where is he? I've been following this cuz the game looks fun and interesting. I was hoping to play soon.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 72
Joined: 2004.06
Post: #34
Sigh. Give me a chance!

I'm basically done. Watch eternal-lands.com over the next few days and it will probably appear
Quote this message in a reply
Raylborn
Unregistered
 
Post: #35
Woohoo! I cant wait, thanks a lot man!
Quote this message in a reply
Radu
Unregistered
 
Post: #36
Here is a test version: http://el.tfm.ro/elc-osx.zip
Please let us know if it works, if there are bugs, etc.
Quote this message in a reply
Raylborn
Unregistered
 
Post: #37
Its very cool, but laggy. What are mim reqs? Im running a 400mhz g3, its fast on every other game I play. Hmmm...maybe fix the laggyness Sad
Quote this message in a reply
Radu
Unregistered
 
Post: #38
What video card do you have? And how many FPS do you see in the game? (upper left corner)
Quote this message in a reply
Raylborn
Unregistered
 
Post: #39
Not sure but I can play Diablo 2 and Warcraft 3 perfectly.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 72
Joined: 2004.06
Post: #40
Is it a Blue and White G3?
If so then it doesn't even have an AGP graphics slot...

Try running it in a lower resolution, less graphics options, in fullscreen etc.
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 770
Joined: 2003.04
Post: #41
Found a bug: the delete key doesn't seem to work. No other problems so far (except trying to read that ugly-looking text Wink )

OS X 10.3.8, Rage 128 Pro 16MB
Quote this message in a reply
Raylborn
Unregistered
 
Post: #42
No it isnt blue and white but it is g3, its one of those white ones. I'll check if it runs good on my G4.
Quote this message in a reply
Raylborn
Unregistered
 
Post: #43
Hmmm this is weird. Ony my G4 the little paper with pencil thing wont open, on any program. Any idea whats wrong?
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 168
Joined: 2004.10
Post: #44
Did you check the console?
Quote this message in a reply
Raylborn
Unregistered
 
Post: #45
What d'you mean check the console?
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  P2P or Client/Server? TokyoDan 2 4,521 Aug 3, 2009 06:15 AM
Last Post: georgiph
  Client side prediction in a networked top-down game AndyKorth 0 3,757 Jun 30, 2009 08:35 AM
Last Post: AndyKorth
  how does bind() work in relation to a client. BinarySpike 3 4,046 Aug 23, 2006 02:44 PM
Last Post: OneSadCookie
  Subversion Client BeyondCloister 8 3,974 Jun 7, 2006 01:04 PM
Last Post: ravuya
  host-client matchmaking "server"... dave05 3 4,188 Sep 15, 2005 04:03 PM
Last Post: Steven