Converting strings to functions

Nibbie
Hi, I'm wondering if there is any effecient way to convert a C string such as "foo(x,y)" into a function call of foo(x,y)? Do I have to create a lookup table for all the functions in the code?

Thanks
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
You're best bet is to put all the functions in a hash table and look up your functions that way...
...but, I'm guessing that what you are doing is something that would benefit from an embeded scripting language.
Nibbie
ok... hash? I'm fairly new to C, what exactly is this? (yes, I'm trying to make a simple scripting language)
How about, use Python as your scripting language, and use the SWIG extension which exposes C and C++ functions to Python. Thus the python (text) script can actually call your C code! This was used to good effect by the uDG winner from a few years back, Kiko the Nanobot. See the winner's post-mortem for info.

SWIG home: http://www.swig.org

Apparently it's very easy to embed the Python interpreter in your program. As a bonus, Python is probably going to be more fully-featured than a scripting language of your own invention.

Measure twice, cut once, curse three or four times.
If you're not too skittish about digging around in large projects, you might consider checking out the Quake2 source for a good example of how to do this. Specifically the two files qcommon.h and cmd.c might help you better understand the process.