Frustrations, Collisions, et al.

Over the past few years I've tried to maintain my passion for programming, but have been frustrated by the lack of immediate results. My only finished product has been Offender (a 21 days Vectorized entry) - since switching to OpenGL, all my projects have died at the same stage: collision detection.

It's one of the first things that I try to implement when doing a game, and it invariably fails. I have limited math knowledge (none since high school) - I find the math of programming tough as it is... Does anyone have any hints? Is anyone willing to write a clear, concise tutorial on this subject (Like Themsalltook's excellent tutorials). All the tutorials I've seen skip steps and assume you know something that I don't! It's gotten to the point where I look at things like 21 Days: Accelerated, and go "oh goodness. I can't do that. You need to know how to do collisions to do that." That's a bit frustrating to me.

I can see someone going: You had collisions in Offender. But in Offender I had to just check for a collision, end of story. If you collided, you blew up. In games where you can bounce of things it's infinitely more complicated. Help! This is killing my hobby!
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
Here's a great tutorial for separating axis tests.
Physics from N

There's also ODE if you want 3D stuff and just want a library that's already made. I'm also still working SPK for 2D games.
That's probably far more complicated than you want at this point, if you've never done anything with collision response. Give us more information about what you're trying to do exactly and then it will be easier to give you a simple way to go about it. You're biting off way more than you can chew if you just jump into polygons and realistic physics if you've never done rectangles or circles before.