Torque: Help for Beginners

Hi, I'm new to the game development world and to programming in general. I wantd to know (before I go and blow $100) is Torque Game Engine is good to start Game Programming. Is it? If not what would you suggest?

Thanks,
AGhost
Quote this message in a reply
Find a beginners book and learn C++. I went out and bought C++ for dummies a while back. You'll pat yourself on the back in 3 years, might even be putting money away as well.

I learned BASIC in my younger years instead of C++. Then when I needed more power, I found I didn't have the time to learn C++. Now I'm languishing away in the land of SFX, 3D modeling, design, and whatever else I can get away with. :_ (

(OK, its not all that bad. But just learn C++)

"Most nutritionists say that Twinkies are bad. But they're not, they're very very good."
Dr. Light Wrote:Find a beginners book and learn C++. I went out and bought C++ for dummies a while back. You'll pat yourself on the back in 3 years, might even be putting money away as well.

I learned BASIC in my younger years instead of C++. Then when I needed more power, I found I didn't have the time to learn C++. Now I'm languishing away in the land of SFX, 3D modeling, design, and whatever else I can get away with. :_ (

(OK, its not all that bad. But just learn C++)

Why on earth would you want to start with C++? Start with C, at the very least... And for someone new to programming, perhaps Blitz Basic would be more appropriate.

- Alex Diener
Torque isn't an engine you would be able to use without any prior coding experience; I'd second the suggestion to learn C (preferably C++; it will likely save you a lot if frustration in the long term...) and the SDL API; SDL only 'natively' supports 2D, but SDL and OpenGL work quite happily together...

Of course, those suggestions are only helpful if you want to learn a coding language/API, not just mess with the 'instant' game creators (of which Torque isn't one.)

Mark Bishop
--