Rank the difficulty: Animated object's appearance/value change

Nibbie
Hi all, wow, am I glad I found this board! Seems like a great resource.

I'm brand new to iPhone app development, but not to programming (experience is confined mainly to scripting languages and a smattering of database-related stuff, though--and no C experience of any kind except for having read a book or two on it). What I know about coding iPhone apps is confined to having read a couple of beginner books and some of the materials on the Apple Developer's site. I've not yet actually done any coding (still waiting on funds to purchase Mac).

However, in classic cart-before-horse behavior, I've conceptualized an iPhone game I'd like to develop. Since I'm ignorant, I'm wondering how difficult some of the design features would be to code. I would appreciate some feedback on how hard it is to do the following:

Picture a bingo ball with a number displayed on its face. As this ball animates across the screen from point A to point B, the number displayed on the ball (and the coded value associated with it) swaps for another at some random point in its travel--accompanied by either a brief visual or audio cue.

Keeping my noobness in mind, how hard is it to do something like this?

1--Straightforward and easy.
2--Somewhat more involved but pretty routine stuff.
3--Tricky or complex, but still doable.
4--This will challenge even a pro.
5--This is impossible in the current environment.

Also, game design question: My idea is that if the user clicks the ball, the current value associated with/displayed on it is used and the ball then goes away (in some visually clever way...pops or something). But it's possible the user may click the ball a fraction of a second after it changes and thus end up selecting a value different than the one they expected. I tend to view this possibility as one of the fun challenges (get it before it morphs, you slow user!) but is it a bad idea from a game design perspective?