Will VBOs be faster than display lists for simple meshes?

Sage
All,

Some time back I wrote a pretty capable mesh system for rendering procedurally generated objects, such as spheres, cylinders, capped cylinders, beveled boxes, etc etc. It does solid wireframing and shadow volume extrusion as well as silhouetting for outlines; I use it in several projects.

The thing is, however, I wrote it about a year ago when I had only been programming OpenGL for a couple months and I was a complete noob. I didn't know about vertex arrays or VBOs, so it's basically just a display list wrapping GL_TRIANGLE calls.

Now, recently I wrote a simple terrain system for a game and I discovered how amazingly fast VBOs can be -- Which leads me to wonder if it would benefit my mesh code to switch to VBOs.

Thus far, none of my meshes use more than ~200 triangles. But my simulations and the game I'm writing tend to have many instances of these meshes, perhaps 100 or more.

Does this sound like something which would benefit from a rewrite to use VBOs?
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
In general, display lists will be faster than VBOs. They do, however, have a significant per-use penalty, which VBOs shouldn't.

In conclusion, try it and see Rasp
Sage
I *knew* it would come to that. Well, something to do tonight.
Sage
I just thought I'd let you know about the results, in case you're interested.

With a little profiling I was able to determine that using display lists for actually drawing the mesh is so fast as to be not worth optimizing. My code spends less than a few percent of time drawing the meshes themselves, even when there's quite a few of them.