Creating glassy Tiger-like textures

Moderator
Posts: 508
Joined: 2002.09
Post: #1
Hey,

Does anyone know how I can create that glassy blue you see in Tiger's Spotlight feature? My attempts to do such a thing have not been very rewarding.

Here's a closer look at what I want: click

I wanna create the blue part of that search field.

Thanks in advance!

"When you dream, there are no rules..."
Quote this message in a reply
Founder
Posts: 1,138
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #2
Thought you were talking about the "Eye of the Tiger" song... or that group from Canada.

For the background set a slight grad. of blues. Make a new layer.
Fill the top part with white. Bring down the transparancy... like way down. You might also want to try different layer styles, (ie ighten, etc...)

Cheers

Carlos A. Camacho,
Founder
iDevGames
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 508
Joined: 2002.09
Post: #3
Cool, mucho thanks Smile

PS: I never thought about "Eye of the tiger", I wonder if Apple will use it when Tiger gets released or better yet, when you launch the Tiger installer Rasp

"When you dream, there are no rules..."
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 522
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #4
Do you have access to Photoshop? I can give some tips if so.

-Jon
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 508
Joined: 2002.09
Post: #5
Yes I do. So far I've created this graphic:

[Image: taxx_glass.jpg]

I'm not very happy about it, but it's a start.

"When you dream, there are no rules..."
Quote this message in a reply
jamie
Unregistered
 
Post: #6
I know it won't be much help but I remember when OSX first came out some website like macaddict or macworld or someone had an article on the exact steps and filters to use in photoshop to create the new apple buttons glass effect.

edit: here is something I threw together in photoshop, if you want the layered .tiff file I can send it to you.

http://www.clay-communications.com/blue_glass.jpg
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 522
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #7
Here's what I came up with:

[Image: pseudotiger.png]

It is just a fine tuned gradient with a drop shadow. The drop shadow could use some tweaking. What I'd suggest is using this gradiant I made, and then shifting the hue to what you want.

Here's an archive of the gradient and photoshop file:

http://www.tc.umn.edu/~czec0035/files/pseudotiger.zip

EDIT: Working gradients here: http://www.tc.umn.edu/~czec0035/files/gradients.grd.zip

I've found that a lot of times creating a really complicated gradient is a lot easier than screwing with layer effects. My initial attempt with layer effects resulted in something that looked more like Windows XP Luna blue crap. Ick. :-D

-Jon
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 508
Joined: 2002.09
Post: #8
Hey that's pretty neat. Hmm, could you save the actions too Smile The gradient file doesn't have that blue gradient, or perhaps I'm doing something wrong.

thanks a bunch!

"When you dream, there are no rules..."
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 522
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #9
Are you going into the Gradient Editor, clicking load, and then selecting pseudotiger.grd?

-Jon
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 508
Joined: 2002.09
Post: #10
Yes, and when I click Load after selecting the gradient file I get the default gradients.

"When you dream, there are no rules..."
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 522
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #11
Taxxodium Wrote:Yes, and when I click Load after selecting the gradient file I get the default gradients.

Ugh, okay I see that it is my fault now. When I Save the gradient in the Gradient Editor, it just saves all the presets to a file. Since I didn't make it a a preset, it didn't save. Seem pretty unintuitive to me, no? It should save the gradient that is currently loaded.

I'm on a different Mac now, but I'll see if I can fix it via Remote Desktop. The gradient I made may be lost. Ugh.

-Jon
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 522
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #12
Okay, I think I've got it. (Luckily)

http://www.tc.umn.edu/~czec0035/files/gradients.grd.zip

It is kind of stupid that I can't save just one gradient. Am I missing something?

When you load these gradient presets in, it loads in a bunch. The pseudotiger one should be at the end.

-Jon
Quote this message in a reply
DoG
Moderator
Posts: 869
Joined: 2003.01
Post: #13
This is what I did while playing with c4d today. Needs a drop shadow, but somehow aqua-ish.

http://dog4.dyndns.org/downloads/toolbar.tiff
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 196
Joined: 2003.10
Post: #14
I'd be very interested in a "making graphics from scratch: a guide for complete graphic clutzes and idiots" type product...
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 567
Joined: 2004.07
Post: #15
hmm, I can't use photoshop (128 mb of ram), and Graphic Converter can't do anything but convert graphics. Is there an alternative?

It's not magic, it's Ruby.
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply