XML Parsing

Sage
I'm currently looking into XML Parsing. I'm trying to figure out TinyXML but really I just need a cross platform way of parsing in some XML. Below is a sample file. I've never done anything with XML before so I'm not sure 1) if the following is "legal" XML or 2) how to set the code into action.

Code:
<level number="1">
    <level_width>50</level_width>
    <level_height>20</level_height>
    <number_blocks>10</number_blocks>
    <block><x>0</x><y>0</y><z>0</z><w>50</w><h>1</h></block>
    <block><x>7</x><y>3</y><z>0</z><w>4</w><h>1</h></block>
    <block><x>10</x><y>2</y><z>0</z><w>4</w><h>1</h></block>
    <block><x>29</x><y>3</y><z>0</z><w>1</w><h>1</h></block>
    <block><x>33</x><y>3</y><z>0</z><w>1</w><h>1</h></block>
    <block><x>31</x><y>7</y><z>0</z><w>1</w><h>1</h></block>
    <block><x>22</x><y>1</y><z>0</z><w>1</w><h>1</h></block>
    <block><x>42</x><y>1</y><z>0</z><w>1</w><h>1</h></block>
    <block><x>50</x><y>1</y><z>0</z><w>1</w><h>20</h></block>
    <block><x>0</x><y>1</y><z>0</z><w>1</w><h>20</h></block>
    <player><x>2</x><y>2</y><z>0</z><w>1</w><h>2</h></player>
</level>

An example of the code using these numbers:
block.Init(x,y,z,w,h);
player.Init(x,y,z,w,h);
LevelWidth = <level_width>
MyLevel = number

If anyone could help me or point me in the right direction to start importing this, I would really appreciate it.
Quote this message in a reply
Cross-platform is going to be a headache. I've got some sample code that uses Carbon, if you change your mind.

This seems to be a good reference, if you want to know more about XML: http://www.alistapart.com/topics/xml/
Sage
I think TinyXML is cross platform but I'm really new so what do I know? I'll look at that page a bit. It isn't so much the concept of XML but the actual code portion that I was unable to find good help with. Hopefully this link helps me out.
The Yoink source code uses TinyXML, if you can find it.
Sage