Mouse Locations

Im pretty new to OpenGL, but i have been toying around with it trying to learn (the best way for me to learn something). I have read through most of NeHes stuff. I have been playing around with a 3d "engine" (I use engine losely). I want the player peice which is always centered in the middle of the screen (which i track with GluLookAt()) to be able to move where ever the mouse is clicked. I am doing this fine by getting the height and width of the window and doing some basic math to figure out where in the screen it needs to go. The problem I am having is that when you rotate the screen around the Z-axis it no longer knows which way is up. So when you are rotated 180 degrees it still moves the player up on the Y axis which is now down. Is there a way i can slove this problem, the easiest way i can think of is by transforming the click into a x/y grid in openGL. I dont need to worry about z yet for mouse locations maybe in a few weeks. Ive browsed through the forms and found some info on Ray Selection and Gl Selection but i cant really figure them out. Ive tried and play around with picking from NeHe's lesson 32 but cant make heads and tails of it. Is there someone out there who can point me in a good direction or take the time to explain things slowly to me =). I really appeciate it. Thanks All!!!
Quote this message in a reply
Hi kodex - welcome to iDG

Read up on gluProject and gluUnProject. You can use gluProject with your object's location to get back its 'z' depth. Then you can use gluUnProject with your mouse's x and y, and with the 'z' depth from gluProject, get back a new x, y, z location that represents where the object would be moved to in order to line it up to the mouse (while keeping its same 'z' depth)

Both use your model-view and projection matricies as well as your viewport so they take into account your 'camera' no matter how its oriented.