which programming language is best?

petr6534
Unregistered

I am an intermediate c++ programmer and want to start to develop games and applications for mac OSX. Which language is the best to learn- Carbon, Cocoa, or is there another language that is better?
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
Carbon is a C/C++ API, and Cocoa is an API for Obj-C. I'd recommend going the cocoa route, it's far easier to learn. Carbon pretty much just around for porting C/C++ programs and for those who did Mac programming in the pre-OSX days.
And let's not forget you can integrate Carbon in a Cocoa application. So yes, I second going for Cocoa.

"When you dream, there are no rules..."
Sage
I don't think I really use either Carbon or Cocoa. Technically I use Cocoa for SDL but other than that I'm just using C++. I would recommend Cocoa however as there are some very useful functions to use when reading/writing files as well as other things. The downside to Cocoa is the inability to be easily ported.
Or you could just keep your C++ knowledge and use a combination of SDL and OpenGL, and that way target any platform which supports those (Mac OS X, Linux, Windows, and lots of more obscure others...)

Mark Bishop
--
Student and freelance OS X & iOS developer
Cocoa/Obj-C if you plan on writing Mac applications

If you plan on writing a game - C/C++ for the low-level graphic routines and either C/C++ or scripting language like Python/Ruby/Javascript for the game logic.

If you are writing a game - look at all the free/open libraries available to you. If you are making a 3d game look at Dim3. If you are making a 2d arcade game look at SDL. Look at cross-platform libraries for your image and audio needs.

good luck!
DoG
ObjC and Cocoa is definitely the way to go for regular user interface programming, and Carbon is the API of choice to access the OS from C/C++. There is no general best way to go, always get the right tool for the job.