ALT: Programs for making 2D games

PS2gamrfreak
Unregistered

Hi everyone, i am a newb when it comes to making and programming games... but i really want to get into it. My goal is to make a 2D game in the style of Sonic, Mario, etc...the side scrolling games. First thing i need is a program that will give me the oppertunity*(dont think i spelled that right) to make a game like this. I dont expect myself to be able to make a big 2D game right away, but i wanna learn. So any 2D programs for Mac OS X that anybody could tell me about would be great!

PS I would like to start with freeware, then mybe buy a program....thanks Grin
Quote this message in a reply
I'm not aware of any freeware for the kind of 2D games creation you imply (i.e. with no coding); in fact, the only app like that I know of is The Green Machine, although I've never used it.
(Oh, and if you're in OS 9 or earlier, maybe check out Klik & Play; available as abandonware on a couple of sites; I say OS 9 and not Classic intentionally, as the app won't run in Classic.)
If I'm wrong and you're willing to learn how to code, I'd suggest you go with Xcode and learn a mainstream language (C, C++, et al) and the OpenGL and SDL APIs, rather than TNT Basic, Metal Basic, et al, but that's just my opinion.

Mark Bishop
--
Student and freelance OS X & iOS developer
Sage
If by "give me the opportunity" you mean drag-and-drop type game creation, I don't know of any like this.