Picking a license for uDevGames

Okay, I've looked at the Open Source licenses but as I'm not a lawyer I'm still none the wiser as to which one I should be using for my contest entry Sad

What I'm looking for is the following:

I want people to be able to look and learn and use source from my game.
I do not want anyone to be able to use source from my game and then use it in a product that they sell.

Which one should I use?
Quote this message in a reply
I'm not sure that any of the licenses on the OSI site will do what you want. I think that's counter to their purpose.

I wonder if using the GPL would have the desired effect... commercial developers are usually rather reluctant to use GPL code because it would force them to open their own source as well. Just a thought.

BTW, why do you not want people to sell products incorporating your otherwise open code?

Neil Carter
Nether - Mac games and comic art
My thought is to let the source go. Smile Use a restrictive license/copyright for the assets, theme, sounds, music, and original aspects. Generally nobody here is coding anything revolutionary or cutting edge as far as code goes. We aren't generally losing anything. Most of us don't write code that is clear enough or reusable enough to be used easily by an outsider without changes that require a lot of work. It's meant to learn from and to be shared, so people can more easily build on that knowledge.

Someone can not turn around and sell your game ASSETS if they are not under the license. And you can protect them any way you see fit and still enter the contest.

Plus, no matter what stage your code is in when you release YOU the developer have the edge on anyone else because you understand it best. Smile So, anyone trying to compete with you will be at a disadvantage...

"Pay no attention to that man behind the curtain." - Wizard of Oz
NCarter Wrote:BTW, why do you not want people to sell products incorporating your otherwise open code?