Fast Frame Rates but Still Ugly

Sage
I am working through the tutorials at GameTutorials.com and I have reached the Time Based Motion tutorial. I noticed that while running this I am getting over 400 frames per second but I'm still getting choppy, disconnected geometry when I move the camera. Is this just something I have to deal with because I have to wait for the computer to process and draw all of the pyramids or is there some other problem?
Quote this message in a reply
turn on vsync? does that fix your problem?
Sage
I feel like a newb asking (well I guess to OpenGL I am a newb) but how do I turn on vsync?
Sage
To expand on skyhawk's post, your display is physically incapable of displaying 400 fps. If it is an LCD it can only display 60 fps. A CRT, 75 or 90 or whatever refresh rate you've got it set at.

What happens when you try to display 400 fps on a 60 fps device? Well, as the device pixels are refreshed from top to bottom, they show whatever is in VRAM at the moment. So you end up with horizontal stretches of multiple frames on screen simultaneously, which is typically described as "tearing" or as you put it, "choppy, disconnected geometry".

Solution is to sync the refresh to VBL (vertical blanking interval), this is off by default on OS X but requires an entire two lines of code on your part. See this technote, though the API to use depends how you're using GL (AGL/NSGL/CGL...)

Note: enabling vsync will, by definition, frame limit you to the refresh rate of the display. Which has interesting side effects for your time-based motion tutorial. If you were running at 400 fps, it will jump down to 60 (or whatever) and should now be perfectly smooth. This is fine but to see the proper effects of the tutorial code, you'll either need a different monitor display Hz (change display mode on a CRT if you have one) or a much slower computer that can only run the example at < 60 fps, or a much more complex example.

There's also this sample code.
Sage