Matrices and Transformations...

Ok, I've finally went back and dabbed into learning OpenGL. I get most of it pretty well, but there's something I was never able to grasp, and that would be what the hell matrix transformations are. I've Googled on stuff about Matrix Multiplication and Linear Transformation but that stuff is pretty complicated for me (I'm usually really good at math but that got me good). I'm still having trouble figuring out what it all has to do with 3D anyway, 'cause I have no idea how it ties into it....

If someone could point me towards a less intense tutorial about this or maybe shine a little light on the subject I would really appreciate it....
Quote this message in a reply
Ah, good old matrices... I've been using OpenGL for about 6 months now, and I'm only beginning to grasp how they work. Sometimes, it's best to just think of them as a black box. If you really want to understand how they work, there's some pretty heavy math involved.

This is one of the best web pages I've found on the subject: http://skal.planet-d.net/demo/matrixfaq.htm

Basically, a matrix contains four 4-dimensional vectors. One vector points to the right, one vector points up, one points forward (backward?), and one stores a positional offset. A 4x4 matrix contains all the information you need to translate from one coordinate system to another, including rotation, scaling, and translation.

A matrix looks something like this:

Code:
Rght Up   Frnt Offs.
+0 [x ] [x ] [x ] [x ]
+1 [y ] [y ] [y ] [y ]
+2 [z ] [z ] [z ] [z ]
+3 [w ] [w ] [w ] [w ]
   +0   +4   +8   +12

The numbers along the edges show the array indices you'd use to access that cell with a standard OpenGL matrix. For example, the cell in the 3rd row, 2nd column, +2/+4, would be at array index 6.

A special matrix called the identity matrix performs no transformations at all. Here's what it looks like:

Code:
1 0 0 0
0 1 0 0
0 0 1 0
0 0 0 1