Are today's gamers too soft?

With uDG 2004 rapidly approaching, I've been thinking over several game ideas. However I'm not so sure that some of the ideas are suitable for today's gamers - or more to the point, I'm not so sure today's gamers are suitable for my ideas.

So what causes me to make such flame inducing remarks?

Well I remember from developing my uDG 2003 entry (Garden Pests), and reading comments by others about other games, that gamers tend to be too soft. One of the "complaints" was that you lost a life when you touched an enemy. Now the concept of losing a life when touching an enemy makes perfect sense to me as
I've been playing computer games since about 1980. But it seems that today's players want to have energy levels, cotton wool wrapping and other such things to save them from such loss of life.

So should I go to the effort of writing a nice retro feel platform game along the lines of Manic Miner only to be whinged at because touching the penguin causes a loss of life? Or should I just give in and provide body armour so that Miner Willy can take lots of hits? Oh, wait a second, what is the point of the game if you cannot be harmed by touching the enemies.......

Discuss

(I intend to write a proper article about this at some point.)
Quote this message in a reply
I blame it on save points!!
It would be safe to assume that most kids grow up nowadays playing huge commercial games in which you can never really die. They expect automatic quick save like in Halo; if they die they want to be automatically back in the action. Gamers are an impatient lot, I think in this day and age they expect to finish the game in one go. Long gone is the question "What level can you get up to?", now it's "What level are you up to?".