Recording gameplay

DM6
Unregistered

Hi all.

The game I'm writing has to take a very specific certain amount of time to play; about 30 mins. So in order to get the best data I can from my testers, I want to implement a system for recording the keypresses over time, so I can play them back on my own machine and watch their games to see where it's too easy, too hard, etc. and maybe statistical methods to judge the learning curve over several games.

I am using SDL with C++. I'm thinking I write SDL key events and their corresponding timer values to an array or two during the game loop and then dump it to a file after the game is finished. I am only an average programmer and am not sure I know whether there are any problems with this way of doing it.

Also there is a problem with reproducing the gameplay on another machine because of random numbers in the game. But the pseudorandom numbers are generated by the timer right? So if I get the absolute time values that aren't relative to the start of the game I can presumably generate the same random numbers every time...
Any advice on implementation/feasability would be soooooo helpful

Thanks
-Duncan
Quote this message in a reply
as for the random number solving thing, just record the seed that you use
DM6
Unregistered

oooooooh riiiight...

Thanks skyhawk.
My only possible concern is that the array or vector would get pretty long. I don't want to write to a file on the fly since it will probably slow down the game. Should I go ahead and use a vector? Another type?

-Duncan
Sage
If you are using the standard C library rand() function then there is no problem with reproducing the numbers. What you need to do is only seed the generator once at the beginning of the game and record the seed number. With the same seed number, the sequence of "random" numbers will always be the same. Try it.