cross-platform code

leggo
Unregistered

I've recently bought an iBook and I'd like to use it to code my opengl apps! I've been coding only for win so far and I'm still a beginner (I've created a stupid game and a tetris clone)
I'd like to make cross-platform code so I can work both on mac and on pc and show my works to my friends! Rasp
Is it possible? where can i find some examples?

tnx LOL
Quote this message in a reply
You've got a few choices, primarily either GLUT or SDL; I'd recommend the SDL library: easy, free, reasonably documented, knowledgable and helpful mailing list, games orientated, and cross-platform for Mac OS X, Windows, Linux, and a host of other minor platforms...

Mark Bishop
leggo
Unregistered

tnx!
any idea of where I can find some examples/tutorials/source code?
The SDL website (http://www.libsdl.org/) has the information you need plus links to tutorials.
Apparently NeHe has a few SDL ports; failing that, I'm not sure - I think there are a few tutorials for 2D SDL code (there's a platform game example/tutorial which is always mentioned on the SDL mailing list) but I don't have the links to hand, sorry - if you want, email me and I'll send you a few SDL/OpenGL examples I coded a while back - they pretty much cover all the basics (creating an OpenGL context with SDL, using SDL_image to load textures, et al; they're not pretty, but they do work Rolleyes)

Mark Bishop
leggo
Unregistered

sealfin Wrote:Apparently NeHe has a few SDL ports; failing that, I'm not sure - I think there are a few tutorials for 2D SDL code (there's a platform game example/tutorial which is always mentioned on the SDL mailing list) but I don't have the links to hand, sorry - if you want, email me and I'll send you a few SDL/OpenGL examples I coded a while back - they pretty much cover all the basics (creating an OpenGL context with SDL, using SDL_image to load textures, et al; they're not pretty, but they do work Rolleyes)

thank you for your help! Smile