Loading TGA files to openGL Textures

Nibbie
Does anyone have a simple bit of code lying around that loads a TGA image into a openGL texture. I have heard it is simple, and relitively painless, but I am new to C, let alone OGL and therefore clueless on how to make one myself. Can anyone post a quick function and some basic instructions on how to use it?

Thanks!

~Joseph
Quote this message in a reply
NeHe has a TGA loader in his texture tutorial.
Sage
You already have on if you have the Dev tools installed. Go to the GLUT examples, and grab textures.c and textures.h from the NewWave demo. That's what I did first. However, If you are going to go with C grab a copy of SDL and SDL_Image. You won't regret it.

Scott Lembcke - Howling Moon Software
Author of Chipmunk Physics - A fast and simple rigid body physics library in C.
I would recommend you use JPG or PNG instead of TGA these days. The difference in file size is considerably significant. I have some source code that I can upload if you are interested. It's a bit involved though, because you need to create a Quartz context, then "print" the images on the context, and then create the textures. The upside is that my code does it all for you, including auto-selecting between TGA, JPG, and PNG.

Also, other developers have been reporting problems with GLUT in OS 10.3 and later. It's best to avoid using GLUT.
kberg
Unregistered

Yup, certainly do...

tga.cc

Usage instructions:

Code:
TextureImage myTexture;

LoadTGA(myTexture, "My_Texture_Filename.tga");

CreateTexture(myTexture, 0);
//For the second parameter to CreateTexture, pass a 1 if you are going to be scaling the texture (ie: mapped to an object far off in the distance).

glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, myTexture.texID);
//Draw stuff using this texture

//To delete the texture and free up all the memory:
DeleteTexture(myTexture);
DeleteBuffer(myTexture);