checking CPU and video card load

Member
Posts: 157
Joined: 2002.12
Post: #1
Hello all
Is there a function call or a way I can test how much work the videocard and CPU are doing so I can adjust game detail accordingly.

Thank you!
Quote this message in a reply
Moderator
Posts: 916
Joined: 2002.10
Post: #2
how about just calculate how long each frame has taken and if it is under this amount, draw at this level, if it is under this amount, draw at this level, and if it takes more than this amount, draw almost nothing.... or something like that.

While this way doesn't tell you EXACTLY what is taking a long time (CPU or GPU) I'm sure via simple profilling on multiple machines will give you a good idea of where the trouble is happening.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: 2004.06
Post: #3
Besides which, in a game the CPU and/or GPU are both going to be running at 100% most of the time, but that doesn't have anything to do with your current framerate. Max Payne uses 100% CPU, and gets about 40 FPS. UT2003 uses 100% CPU and gets 15 FPS.

Getting the current FPS is a far more efficient, accurate and reliable way to do it.
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Starting with SDL, can't load BMP :( ngoles 14 9,312 Jan 21, 2014 11:19 AM
Last Post: SethWillits
  What's the video card in your Mac tigerking 34 14,359 Nov 13, 2010 11:05 PM
Last Post: Skorche
  Checking renderer capabilities akb825 5 2,843 Apr 11, 2006 09:04 AM
Last Post: akb825
  OpenGL, core video and live video kensuguro 2 4,224 Oct 28, 2005 06:51 AM
Last Post: kensuguro
  How can I load a PNG without premultiplied alpha? Prime 6 6,628 Feb 15, 2005 08:52 PM
Last Post: arekkusu