Photoshop…?

Marjock
Unregistered

Is Photoshop any good for drawing sprites? ("space ships" mainly) how much does it cost? is it worth me buying it if I'm like a total noob with it?

Edit: Does it come with good tutorials?

thx,
Mar Tar
Quote this message in a reply
There are more Photoshop tutorials on the web than anyone could get through in their life time. Wink I would recommend that you buy Photoshop Elements 2. $99 normally, Amazon has it for ~$79 and sometimes you can find a place that has mail in rebates and get it down to ~$29.

I can't really comment on whether or not it is good at making sprites. I mostly use it for photo editing, and GUI creation. I imagine Illustrator would be better suited in reality, but it is pretty expensive.
As for the full-blown Photoshop, it's somewhere around $700-ish and don't buy it unless you know what it is - although it is very powerful, it might be overkill for what you want to do. Especially at that price...

Did you ever wonder why we had to run for shelter when the promise of a brave new world unfurled beneath the clear blue sky?
For DigIt!, I used Photoshop Elements to do sprites and other graphics. I think it's sufficient for sprite work.
Nibbie
Photoshop is (arguably) THE most powerful graphics editor on any platform, and almost inarguably the most powerful for Mac. I have been using PS since It was 4.0, and have had the misfortune of using 1.0 on my mac classic Huh . Anyway, past years I have been using Photoshop my skill has just gone up and up and up... I still don't use half the features and I have a part time job as a digital retoucher (read: cushy after you learn how). I use it exclusively for sprite work, such as my avatar here, and these:
[Image: NemBlork4.gif] (very inside joke)
[Image: Pixelation_GBA.gif] (a GBA mockup)
and [Image: Arian_1.2.gif] (a character from a game in progress)
So yeah, I would say PS can do sprite work, and image work, and well, you name it Rolleyes