Loading a PICT from a file

hyperutila
Unregistered

Okay, I'm kind of new at macintosh programming, though I know the basics of c++. I'm trying to write a program in Carbon that will load a PICT file that I specify(meaning that I already know its location) to a buffer that will then draw it to the screen. From looking through the documentation that came with XCode, I determined that I either need an FSSpec structure, or FSRef structure that will contain information on the file. But how do I do that? And once I do, how do I get it to the screen? Also, what is a file reference number and how do I get it? I'm kind of confused Wacko . Please help me out.
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
You might like to look at QTValuePak. There's a version at http://onesadcookie.is-a-geek.net/~keith...Pak.tar.gz until iDevGames gets the file downloads section working again.

One of those samples is about as simple as you can get, loading any kind of image and drawing it into a window. In particular, it shows how to turn a POSIX path into an FSRef into an FSSpec.
hyperutila
Unregistered

Thanks, I'll try it out!
If you're drawing a PICT, it would be a lot easier to use a PICT resource instead of a PICT file. You wouldn't have to worry about FSSpecs and FSRefs. With a PICT resource, all you have to do is call GetPicture() to load the PICT into memory and DrawPicture() to do the drawing.

Mark Szymczyk
http://www.meandmark.com
hyperutila
Unregistered

That would all be fine and good, except I don't know how to assign a resource ID to a the imported PICT resource, and that's necessary for the GetPicture function to work. How do you import a resource and assign it an ID?
Download ResEdit from Apple's site. It's an old program so it runs in Classic on OS X. Open your PICT file in ResEdit. Create a new file in ResEdit. Copy the PICT resource from the PICT file to the new file. ResEdit will give it an ID of 128, but you can change it if you want.