Creating a "Object" Class

Nibbie
Well, disclaimers first: I am a newbie, and I am a 3D animator, so most of my experience comes from that and so it may be fundamentally flawed for working ith OpenGL.

I think I need a class for objects in my game, how have you guys dealt with this? what is included in your object class? does it include more than just the model data? how do you include the information neccesary for colision detection, etc?
Quote this message in a reply
ok, here are some way too extensive rambling suggestions/ideas:

If you describe what kind of game you want to write it would help narrow down what you need.

First you need some basic math classes. Real, Point, Vector, Rect, and if you are making a 3d game then Vertex, Matrix, Quaternion, Plane, Sphere, Frustum, AAB (Axis-Aligned Box), Triangle, Texture. You can find examples online (I can post some links if you need).

You need a Camera class. If its a 2D game, then maybe the Camera class only consists of a Point, or a Rect. In 3D you probably want it to contain a Frustum. You need some way of knowing what you are looking at.

You need some kind of Input class to read the keyboard/mouse/joystick.

You need an Image class. For 3D you need a Model class. They should be able to Draw() themselves. They should be able to initialize themselves from whatever file 2D or 3D format you are using (.png, .obj, etc...). The Model class would obviously contain an array of Verts and Triangles and Textures - NeHe has some example code you can download.