AGL or CGL?

Acheron761
Unregistered

I'm new to OpenGL programming, so sorry if this seems simple;
I'm trying to write a Carbon GL app without having to use GLUT, and I've read on both AGL and CGL, but I can't figure out exactly what the relationship between them is; my documentation even lists AGL as 'unsupported' but I can't find any confirmation of this at Apple so I'm assuming my documentation is out of date by a few years (most of it seems fine, though). If anyone could offer some advice as to which set of APIs to use, I'd be very grateful.
Quote this message in a reply
AGL does work in Carbon; it's just not part of Carbon, which is why the documentation says it's unsupported in Carbon. What this means is you have to add the AGL Framework (or the AGL library if you're writing a CFM Carbon app) to have AGL work in Carbon.

CGL works only for fullscreen programs and works only in Mac OS X. If you want your code to run in OS 8 or 9, use AGL. If you're doing your OpenGL drawing into a window, use AGL. If you're writing a fullscreen OS X game, you can use either one, but CGL is lower-level than AGL so you'll get better performance with CGL.

Mark Szymczyk
http://www.meandmark.com
Most likely, since you're just learning, you should stay with GLUT. The only reason you shouldn't be using GLUT is if you need better windowing or input. Just because it is GLUT does not imply that it is for beginners only, just that it's a heck of a lot easier to get up and running with it. And it offers better performance than you might expect. In fact, I don't know that it's any slower than AGL or CGL in practice. Point is, if you're worried about speed, don't. Well written, logical code will move over into AGL or CGL very easily when more OS stuff is needed later. That said, here's my take:

-If you need better windows then AGL is it.

-If you don't need windows ( IOW, fullscreen all the time ) then CGL is it.

-AGL is written on top of CGL and is definitely supported.