Game Instructions

What is the best method of providing instructions and other information for a game during development?

It gets very frustrating when people keep mentioning the same issues which have already been listed as known issues in a readme file that goes with a game just because they have not read it.

So the big question is - do you read the readme or are we just wasting our time writing them?
Quote this message in a reply
[Posted after reading your message in the other thread Wink]

Readme files are very important. In some cases I will trash a program if it doesn't come with documentation which adequately describes what it does.

Some people won't ever read your documentation, but that's their problem.

That said, I hate writing documentation. I'm a terrible writer, and it takes me hours to write even a single page, so I sympathise with others who find it difficult.

Neil Carter
Nether - Mac games and comic art
I usually will read the "ReadMe" files for games that have no instructions within the actual application. I hate referring to the readme for that kind of stuff.

The ReadMe should contain a simple synopsis of the game, specific controls/commands, release version changes, and copyright info. It should be simple for users to glance at and have an understanding of what to do.

However, the actual game should incorporate a duplicate or more extensive controls/commands screen for the user to learn or customize the controls.

ProRattaFactor
(Retro-infused games for iPad, iPhone, iPod touch, and Mac)
I tend to just skim the readme file to see if it includes any important info about how to play, but then also to go through the game's preferences screen (if it has one).
As you say, for a game in development I would always read the ReadMe before running it.

But for a released game, I almost never read the readme, unless it doesn't work. I would normally look for ingame instructions/control setup.

- Iain
eekaydee
Unregistered

Same here.