Using white as transparent color

Quote:Originally posted by Joseph Duchesne
I've been using macs for 10 years and every one I've seen has
alt
Option on it.

Maybe I'm imagining it, then.

[Looks again]

Nope, it still says alt on mine. Rasp

If you want to be technical, it says alt in small letters at the top (like yours) but has that funny symbol which means 'option' underneath (the one that appears on menus).

Neil Carter
Nether - Mac games and comic art
Quote this message in a reply
Sage
(way off topic)

For those of you who have never used a computer outside of your own country: There exists more than one keyboard layout in the wide world. In fact, there are a whole bunch.

There are three common keyboard forms, ANSI [US] (for full sized keyboards, this used to be called "101 key", a few years ago Microsoft added their own keys though), ISO [Europe] ("102 key"), and JIS [Japan] ("106 key").

Then, for each form, there are any number of different layouts where labels are assigned to keys depending which characters are needed most in that country. For instance, on a US keyboard there are no accented characters; you use dead keys (option-u+u for an umlauted u, for example.) But the majority of European layouts have accented characters directly available as a single key. Punctuation is also shifted around. (There are other options for accented characters on Windows. The AltGr modifier key, or the incredibly inconvenient Alt+numpad sequence.)

All of the above assumes a layout derived from QWERTY. On top of that, there is the Dvorak keyboard and a whole set of international flavors.

For some quick pics:
http://utopia.knoware.nl/users/eprebel/M...Keyboards/
(old OS 9 layouts on a Mac ISO keyboard.)

And naturally the Mac layouts and Windows layouts are different:
http://www.microsoft.com/globaldev/refer...oards.aspx
(Site does not work in Safari.)
Sage
(back on topic)

LongJumper--