Best/simplest way to load data from disk

I feel really stupid asking this because it's probably the first thing you get taught if you have a formal education in programming, but since I'm self taught and I've always hated learning about I/O... Blush

I want to store my data for maps, animations and so on as text files so that I can edit them by hand. My first thought is to use either C++ streams or C stdio in text mode. I can read my books and look up tutorials to discover how to actually do it, but I wondered if anyone can give pros and cons for choosing one over the other.

I've also been using the Core Foundation XML parser for data files, but I find it rather cumbersome. Is there anything else that would be a better solution for loading really simple text data?

Neil Carter
Nether - Mac games and comic art
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
Expat is a good XML parser if that's what you want.

C's stdio is probably the easiest way to read files.
Thanks, I'll look into Expat (possibly with a C++ wrapper). I'm also doing some experiment with C's stdio right now... hopefully I'll have figured it out in a few days.

If anyone else has any other thoughts or opinions, I'm still keen to hear them!

Neil Carter
Jesse
Unregistered

I went through the same thing, and found Navigation Services to be a little overwhelming. I ended up using fopen(), etc., which seems to work fine.
Quote:Originally posted by codemattic
also check out tiny xml

That looks very good, especially in terms of being pretty simple and written in C++! I may well end up using tinyxml.

Quote:Originally posted by Jesse
I went through the same thing, and found Navigation Services to be a little overwhelming. I ended up using fopen(), etc., which seems to work fine.

Well, Navigation Services is supposed to help you locate the file using a dialog - it doesn't actually open the file for you. Are you referring to FSOpenFork(), FSRead() etc.?