Widesreen monitors and res switching

Member
Posts: 50
Joined: 2002.12
Post: #16
Yeah, I think the window is hidden under the DSp window.

Quote:Does that work (passing the height but not the width)?


Yup, it will return the native width at that height. So on a widescreen it would get 960 x 600. On a 15" powerbook it would get 900 x 600, and on a 4x3 it would get a 800 x 600. But on a 5x4 it'd get a 750 x 600, which would make some of the game go offscreen.

Quote: I prefer the latter but usually if its a choice between having the black vertical bars or having distorted images i want the bars.


Ok thanks. I'll make it with the bars then, since my game has to use 800 x 600, so I guess the best thing to do is let the res go bigger if needed, but keep the height at 600. That way if there is extra room on the sides, the black bars will be drawn. I'll also add a check to make sure its not a 5x4 monitor, since then the width would be smaller than 800. If it is I'll pass 800 for width and the the height blank.

Thanks for you help, everyone.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #17
Quote:Originally posted by jSTIN
But on a 5x4 it'd get a 750 x 600[...]


I have a 17" Studio Display (5:4), and that's not one of the supported resolutions (the closest 5:4 resolution to 800 x 600 is 800 x 640), so on a 5:4 display it would get 800 x 600, either stretched or with bars.
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: 2002.12
Post: #18
Sorry if I didn't make myself clear. I was just saying what the res size would be if it could be at 600 high. The res i'd want for that display would be the 800 x 640.
Quote this message in a reply
whiterabbit
Unregistered
 
Post: #19
Check out RezLib by Ian Ollmann. I believe it's hosted by iDevGames: http://www.idevgames.com/content/download.php?id=100

It's super-easy to use and it doesn't take long to convert your DrawSprocket code to RezLib. RezLib handles depth/resolution switching, gamma fades, taking over the desktop, and synching to the VBL. And you aren't limited to running fullscreen, you can run your game in a window as well. It'll let you easily choose a non-stretched resolution without having to touch the CG API (it does this for you).
Quote this message in a reply
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: 2002.12
Post: #20
Thanks. I thought about switching to RezLib, but didn't for some reason. Maybe I'll take another look if this doesn't work.
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  switching screen resolution NelsonMandella 3 3,537 Apr 25, 2010 01:33 PM
Last Post: SethWillits
  Full Screen Switching Blacktiger 3 3,683 Feb 9, 2008 03:05 PM
Last Post: Blacktiger
  Trouble with fullscreen switching codeman9 14 5,680 Aug 11, 2004 01:37 PM
Last Post: arekkusu
  switching projection modes Muffinking 1 2,244 Aug 10, 2003 08:34 PM
Last Post: OneSadCookie