First Attempt at Music - Be Kind!

So, I'm sitting here thinking to myself, "Galaxy Lancer sure does need music. Art and programming are no problem, but where am I going to find some music that won't get me sued because I stole it?" Seeing how I'm poor, and asking someone to work for free just doesn't seem right, I guess I'm stuck with with my own musical "talents." I had been been playing around with PlayerPro, but I've never been able to come up with anything more than a few seconds of a drum loop. However, the new version of Final Cut Pro comes with a nifty new program called Soundtrack. I figured it was worth a try and spent the night whipping these up:

Test Song
Test Song 2

The first one isn't so hot, but I actually kinda like the second one. Neither are exactly game music material, but hey, I'm new to this.

Be gentle, I bruise easily. Wink
Quote this message in a reply
JeremyL
Unregistered

Just to echo Bachus' request...

I've been teaching myself how to read sheet music over the past few months, and today I attempted my first original composition. Appreciate any feedback or suggestions for ways to improve.

midi file: http://www.geocities.com/salisburgensis/
Exactly what are you looking for for Galaxy Lancer's music? I mean, I don't see a reason why those tracks you have couldn't be used in a game. It just depends what you are going for. Also, how are you planning on releasing it? Shareware, freeware, etc. My music design/production/composition website isn't public yet, but in short I will do music for freeware/opensource games for free on a case by case basis. (Hopefully this will be a good idea! I don't want to get overwhelmed!) For now if you want to hear some of what I have done, I did a few midi tracks for Hooptie by Inkubator. I have plenty more examples that will be on my site, from a slurry of genres.

I was also wondering if you were using SpriteWorld for your animation? Or homebrew?

-Jon
Quote:Originally posted by JeremyL