Camera rotation problem

Jesse
Unregistered

I know this is one of the most basic problems in 3D graphics, but as a self-taught programmer I admit I'm having some trouble working it out. What I'm trying to do is take an object's yaw, pitch and roll values and convert them to a correct matrix or axis/angle representation for submission to OpenGL. The problems I'm trying to avoid are gimbal lock, and rotation about world rather than local axes.

For the second problem, I understand that in principal the axes of the object need to be rotated as well as the object; that is, a 45 degree yaw should also rotate the x axis 45 degrees, so that the subsequent pitch rotation will occur around the local rather than world x axis. I could do this manually, or course, but I don't think that's the way it's usually done.

I'm reasonably well versed in quaternion and matrix math and have a class for each, but I'm having trouble putting all the pieces together. At the moment I'm trying to create a Descent-style 6DOF camera. I'm sure many of you have already done this, so any input would be appreciated.
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
Don't use yaw pitch and roll at all, ever.

Always use a quaternion or axis-angle representation (they're essentially equivalent; converting one to the other is trivial).

glRotatef takes the axis-angle form.
Jesse
Unregistered

Quote:Don't use yaw pitch and roll at all, ever.

Always use a quaternion or axis-angle representation (they're essentially equivalent; converting one to the other is trivial).

glRotatef takes the axis-angle form.

Ok, I'm listening. But how does one get from the user input stage to a quaternion/axis-angle representation? Mapping user input to yaw, pitch and roll is of course fairly trivial, but I'm not sure how to bypass that and go directly to the less intuitive mathematical form. If you could elaborate just a little I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks.
Luminary