Memory and music

I have created my sound library, using openAL for sound effects and AVPlayer to play background music. All things are going swimmingly.

So far, I'm using m4a files, but each song in 'non-crunchy' mode takes up between 4 and 8 meg! I look at games like 'Edge' that have 16+ tracks of long, beautiful music and I wonder how the hell it all fits in memory.

Do I give up, and create music algorithmically? I have some background in this type of thing, so it could be done.

http://www.fluttermind.com
Fluttermind - Games for Everyone
Quote this message in a reply
Madrayken Wrote:I have created my sound library, using openAL for sound effects and AVPlayer to play background music. All things are going swimmingly.

So far, I'm using m4a files, but each song in 'non-crunchy' mode takes up between 4 and 8 meg! I look at games like 'Edge' that have 16+ tracks of long, beautiful music and I wonder how the hell it all fits in memory.

Do I give up, and create music algorithmically? I have some background in this type of thing, so it could be done.

Streaming from disk perhaps ?
I'm relatively new to all this, so apologies if this is a silly question:

Would streaming from disk mean that the files would have to be separate from the .app bundle somehow? I've not yet got around to going through the whole packaging for release, and all my assets are part of my Xcode project at the moment, so I'm not sure how I'd do that.

Alternatively, you mean that streaming via AVPlayer should not load the entire file into memory at any point.

Any pointers much appreciated.

Yeah, my point is that there is no need to load the entire file into memory since having 5 MB taken by data which doesn't require random access is pure waste.
Hmm... sounds like I'm doing it already then. The reason this all came to my attention was that my app was crashing when music files were over 4meg. Perhaps the issue is elsewhere, since I'm using AVPlayer's:

Code: