openGL and SDL question (loading and using sprites)

KidTsunami
Unregistered

I am pretty new to both openGL and SDL and I am having a hard time figuring out how to load a sprite through SDL that I can use with openGL for my 2D game engine? Any ideas?
Quote this message in a reply
Basically, I sidestepped the image loading functions from SDL completely.

You can still use SDL for input, threads, and changing video modes, but get the image loading code from somewhere else. I used the targa loader from the Nehe site. Basically, you load it right into an OpenGL texture. Remember, when you use OpenGL and SDL together most of the graphics (blitting, etc.) are handled by OpenGL.

Check out this tutorial and others at nehe.gamedev.net You want to look at the bottom of the page and download the Linux/SDL code. Remember, SDL code is cross-platform, so you can compile it fine in OS X. Make a SDL project, remove the main and replace it with the downloaded tutorial file. Just remember to change the GL includes to:

#include <OpenGL/gl.h>
#include <OpenGL/glu.h>

That's the beauty of SDL. Smile

I had good luck with this tutorial, and it has a couple of good ideas I hadn't seen before in the code.

I believe you can take the raw data from the SDL_image loaders and stick them into a texture as well, but I haven't looked into this in detail.

Aaron

"Pay no attention to that man behind the curtain." - Wizard of Oz
KidTsunami
Unregistered

Yeah, I just downloaded SDL_image, I was planning on using those to load in my sprites, what do you think is the best file format for sprites?

Also do you think I should use a different loader than SDL_image?

I'm sorry but I don't know what targa is, I'm just guessing its a graphic file type that I don't know.
yep, targa is another graphics file format. It's nice because you can have an alpha channel for varying levels of transparency in your pixels (for things like anti-aliased edges.)