2D Scrolling Engine Question

Quote:Originally posted by Frank C.
Me too - My basic thinking is too approach it using common terrain texturing techniques. e.g. Use relatively low-res textures for overall colour (or even just vertex colours, or a combination of the two) then overlay tiled groups of detail textures...
You're still thinking about a grid of pixels though.

My idea is like this: the world is composed of layers of polygons with textures on them. This way you can (for example, in a side scroller) have ground that goes up and down very flexibaly. In an overhead-view RPG it means you could have castle and town layouts that don't stick to 90∞ corners.

"He who breaks a thing to find out what it is, has left the path of wisdom."
- Gandalf the Gray-Hat

Bring Alistair Cooke's America to DVD!
Quote this message in a reply
KidTsunami
Unregistered

Ok, I'm really new to textures and openGL in general. I understand how an orthographic projection would work to make a 2D game, but I am confused about your textured approach.

I am visualizing polygons and textures but do not understand how you could make a detailed looking castle without using sprites (or grids of pixels).

BTW, I'm planning on using an overhead RPG perspective.

You might have to really spell this out for me, I'm pretty darn green. Blush
Quote:Originally posted by KidTsunami
Ok, I'm really new to textures and openGL in general. I understand how an orthographic projection would work to make a 2D game, but I am confused about your textured approach.

I am visualizing polygons and textures but do not understand how you could make a detailed looking castle without using sprites (or grids of pixels).

BTW, I'm planning on using an overhead RPG perspective.

You might have to really spell this out for me, I'm pretty darn green. Blush