Frame Rates

Hi,
I'd like to get some kind of fps counter on my game but I'm having trouble. Here's the code:
Code:
NSTimer *time;
- (void)draw;

- (void)awakeFromNib
{
        time = [[NSTimer scheduledTimerWithTimeInterval: DEFAULT_TIME_INTERVAL
                    target:self
                    selector:@selector(draw)
                    userInfo:nil
                    repeats:YES]
                    retain
                    ];

}

- (void)draw
{
     // frame counter here
     // All I want is to print out the frames per second to NSLog();
}

My question is how do I get the time and compare it with the frames. I know this sounds like a really stupid question, but my Cocoa skills are still quite lacking due to the Cocoa book "Learning Cocoa" (1st edition). Btw the timer code was taken from someone elses codeBlush.

Thanks,
Iceman
Quote this message in a reply
Im still learning cocoa too, so I can't tell you code, but I can tell you how to make a FPS counter

time1 = (get the current time or timer here)
MAIN LOOP HERE
{

time2 = time1
time1 = (get the current time or timer here)

FPS = 1/(time1-time2)

}

Did that help at all?
Luminary
Code:
// in the interface for the class
NSTimeInterval elapsed;
NSTimeInterval lastFrame;
unsigned int frameCount;

Code:
// in the timer callback
NSTimeInterval thisFrame = +[NSDate timeIntervalSinceReferenceDate];
elapsed += (thisFrame - lastFrame);
++frameCount;
lastFrame = thisFrame;

if (elapsed > 1.0)
{
    printf("%f FPS\n", frameCount / elapsed);
    frameCount = 0;
    elapsed = 0.0;
}
I much prefer "static" framerate counters that update less often than every frame (so you get a number you can actually read instead of madly vibrating text).

Code:
gettimeofday(&startTime);
    framesPerSecond = 0;

[Per frame:]

framesPerSecond++;
    gettimeofday(&currentTime,NULL);
    if(currentTime.tv_sec > startTime.tv_sec)
    {
        printf("%d renders per second.\n", framesPerSecond); //or whatever