Inventor of new card game seeks programmer

thoughtsoc
Unregistered

While in college in the 70's, I invented a two-player card game called Seventeen. It bears similarities to hearts and to spades. It's totally unique in one respect: every hand has a chance to win! There is no two-handed card game that relies so much on skill and so little on luck.

The object of the game is to capture a precise number of tricks (unlike Spades, where the more tricks you capture the merrier). Each round usually comes down to the last trick, so there is a high excitement factor.

A computer version of Seventeen, with the human being against the computer, will be highly addictive. I believe it will become a standard feature of new computers in the same way that Hearts is. I need someone to design the computer version and to share in the profits. Please contact me if you can help.

Trust me. This game is a winner!
Quote this message in a reply
Sounds interesting, to bad im new to Cocoa, when you finish the game tell me, I want to try it.
Quote:I believe it will become a standard feature of new computers in the same way that Hearts is

LOL never say this here Grin
Anyway, I' d like to know more about the game too Smile
Luminary
Not a new concept, it's in most standard books of card games. I know it as "Oh hell", which is usually how you feel around the third- or fourth-to-last trick Smile It works equally well with more than two players...

Programming it as a multiplayer networked game would probably be pretty easy, and a good introduction to networking for someone new to that.

The required AI for single-player, though, would probably be pretty hard stuff.
Founder
Hi Russ, good luck on your card game. I hope someone will pick it up. Search for a forum member called Danlab. He pops out games often and many of them are very high-quality.

Cheers

Carlos A. Camacho,
Founder
iDevGames
thoughtsoc
Unregistered