3D animation software

snickrep
Unregistered

Hello, I am kind of new to 3D and would like to purchase a good 3D package. When I used to use a PC, I worked with truespace 3D. But I really hated the tools it had. It was confusing. But anyways that was a while ago. On mac I am familar with 3D software such as Maya Personal Learning Edition and Meshwork. Meshwork is a great tool for basic low-poly models for games. Maya PLE is great too, but the watermarks drive me crazy and how you can't use DXF and 3DS importing/exporting. Plus there is no use of me learning Maya since I will never be able to afford it. I can't even afford a student version of maya. I would like to buy a software package that I could learn for game development. But since I am new to 3D, I would like some easy to learn modeling tools. I want to stay away from software like carrara studio, bryce, poser, amapi 3D, and etc since I want more of a professional 3D package like Cinema4D,Lightwave, or Animation Master. Or any other program like those I mentioned. I just want a good 3D package with has easy tools for modeling, good for making game models & tools/features for game development.

Jack
Quote this message in a reply
there are many threads on this subject, look around. As in all of these, I reccomend Cinema 4d XL...it works well for me and you can look in the other threads for all of my reasons.
Mars_999
Unregistered

Not to be a dic* but I started a thread on this awhile ago. Check out the search feature. But on a lighter note welcome to idevgames. Hope you enjoy your stay. Rasp
Founder
Welcome to the site. Indeed we have covered this subject (in this message board) many times. By the way, what is wrong with carrara studio? Have you seen a gallery with art created in version 2? Amapi 7 also has some nice tools.

Cheers

Carlos A. Camacho,
Founder
iDevGames
snickrep
Unregistered