sci fi FPS using quake 3 engine concept

DTMDoc
Unregistered

Howdy everyone

I'm new to these parts but I had an idea. I am not a programmer at all, but am considering starting to learn. In the meantime, I was wondering if anyone would be interested in collaborating on making a FPS using the quake 3 engine (or other engine that others would recommend). It is a sci-fi genre game with influences from Starship Troopers (by Heinlein, not the butchered movie version) against alien races also armed in armored suits.

I was wondering if this sounds like a doable project or even if anyone wants to collaborate?

Thanks in advance.
Quote this message in a reply
macboy
Unregistered

It sounds doable but more like something you'd want to do with a Duke Nukem or Doom engine.

Maybe somebody could even create a new one. Smile
├ľor even Aleph One/Marathon, which is probably more flexible and extensible than the engines macboy mentioned.

More details of the project would also be nice, ie. whether the project is intended to be commercial or a freeware mod, etc. (just posting as a suggestion, currently I can't collaborate on anything outside of college Sad )

Mark Bishop
--
Student and freelance OS X & iOS developer
I think q3 engine is out of the question unless you have a budget with six figures.
DTMDoc
Unregistered

Quote:Originally posted by David
I think q3 engine is out of the question unless you have a budget with six figures.
definitely not q3 Smile
DTMDoc
Unregistered

to give more specifics, this concept is based on an RPG system I had worked off and on with since I was about 11 years of age. The game features personal powered armor suits with a vast array of weapon systems and is customizable.