Simple Quake Variant?

deekpyro
Unregistered

Hello,
I'm a C++/Objective-C/Java programmer interesting in developing a new video game technology. What I'd like to do is create some simple models and use the (Open Source) Quake engine so I could have a couple simple guys running around on a simple map.

Any one know where I should even start?

Any one familar with the Quake engine?

Thanks a lot, I have hope this presentation I'll eventually have to give on this new technology will definately push the gaming world forward in some way, shape or forum.

Derek
deekpyro@charter.net
Quote this message in a reply
I'm not one to pimp my own site on bulletin boards, but it's really the only place on the net with a nice list Mac Quake editing links and info:

pOx's Playhouse

Quake 1 editing is absolutely possible on the Mac (as long as you don't mind classic), The state of Mac Quake 2 editing is not so good, but a MacOSX GtkRadiant would help that along greatly...

I'm very familiar with the Q1 engine and tools if you have any specific questions, but it sounds like you'd be more comfortable with the F.O.D. Cocoa port rather than the Carbon port that I have contributed too in the past (the core engine is the same regardless).
deekpyro
Unregistered

Cool Frank! I appreciate all the help I can get. That site definately helps me out but I'm still a long way from having enough knowledge to concivable tackle this project. So my AIM SN is TeraRWM, and Frank or anyone else that is knowledgable in this area (even if it's not he Quake engine, but making Quake variants) please message me, for the good of this project I'm having a hard time figuring out how to use the Quake source to even route to a main menu (not used to game programming or starting with an engine like this, but I'm so happy and willing to learn)

Thanks again,
Derek