Getting Started with OpenGL - Mac

ThrottleMonkey
Unregistered

I've been looking around the internet for quite some time. OpenGL.org has great tutorials and whatnot on how to get started... learning to code in OpenGL... but the Apple website (IMO) is crap when it comes to explaining how/where to get/download GLUT and OpenGL for OSX.

Would someone be kind enough to point a total newbie in the right direction?
Quote this message in a reply
macboy
Unregistered

Click the "idg faq" button at the top then on the iDevGames site, look at some of the examples and such. Cool
standard nehe.gamedev.net plug applies

[edit] fixed site Rolleyes jabber Rasp
GLUT is provided as a framework included with the dev tools. Throw it into the project, write a new main.c, and it should be good to go.

The next harder thing to learn is AGL, which is closely tied to the window manager, but you'll need it for Carbon work without GLUT.
Luminary
Just to explicitly say it, GLUT and OpenGL come with Mac OS X. There's nothing you need to install but the developer tools.
For glut, my suggestion would be just too pick apart Apple's sample code:
http://developer.apple.com/samplecode/Sa...r_OS_X.htm

if you're not interested in glut, and are looking for a more non-portable option, I'd suggest looking into working with OpenGL in Cocoa. If you have any questions about Cocoa and OpenGL I'll be happy to answer.

---Kelvin--
15.4" MacBook Pro revA
1.83GHz/2GB/250GB
Quote:Originally posted by skyhawk
standard nehe.gamedev.org plug applies
I perfer nehe.gamedev.net Rasp
Feanor
Unregistered

Was not there a bunch of stuff on the OpenGL list lately about GLUT being incomplete in the distribution and you had to compile it yourself to get it to work correctly? I know the framework that is installed is functional...