How is Q3A taking advantage of dual CPUs?

DoG
Moderator
Posts: 869
Joined: 2003.01
Post: #1
Does anybody know? I am wondering because I would like to support multiple CPUs in my engine, but I wonder how it is done efficiently. Telling me its multi threaded wont help, I need to know how they divide the work.

- D.G
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
Posts: 5,143
Joined: 2002.04
Post: #2
This was answered very recently in another thread on these boards, by a quote from Brad Oliver originally posted to IMG's boards.

Understand that Q3A is not open-source, so the only people who know will be engine licensees.
Quote this message in a reply
DoG
Moderator
Posts: 869
Joined: 2003.01
Post: #3
I know q3a is not open source, yet there should be some info on the basic design of the engine.
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Dual Kinect Cameras and iPiSoft basic mrbones 1 3,548 Nov 23, 2011 03:39 AM
Last Post: vincentroberts
  Taking advantage of 3DNow, SSE, MMX or whatever the PPC equivalent is called... Jones 3 3,590 Oct 24, 2006 07:06 AM
Last Post: Jones
  Taking the next big step... into 3D WhatMeWorry 23 9,129 Nov 18, 2005 08:49 PM
Last Post: maaaaark
  First (pathetic) attempt at dual-weilding classes Coin 21 9,690 Feb 20, 2005 10:09 PM
Last Post: wadesworld