3D environments

cooop
Unregistered

I'm new to game programming and fairly new to programming in general, though I can get around. I haven't had an opportunity to read this site thoroughly, but I do have a question: when developing a 3D environment for a 3D game (say, for example, an FPS) do you first model the environment in a 3D program first and then incorporate it into the actual code? Thanks in advance.
Quote this message in a reply
In a sense. You generally create your models (characters, object, weapons, etc) in the 3D program. You create your textures in a 2D program. You usually then build a level design tool to create your actual 3D world.

Wade
Luminary
You don't incorporate the levels into the source code, though. You write a loader for whatever format you decide to use, then load the data files.
cooop
Unregistered

Before you can build the loader, you must have a three-dimensional environment created in a 3D editor such as Maya or Lightwave, correct? You then load this environment with a loader?

Or am I completely off the mark and you do something else? I don't fully understand the 'build level design tool' comment.

Just so you know, I'm completely new to gaming period, much less 3D games, and I have in mind a project (not a commerical venture, just something to develop for myself, to work on as I get better and constantly improve). I'm generally a fast (or at least a dedicated) learner and I'm trying to completely understand the components needed to make such a project (an FPS). I'm also looking for a good excuse to get a 3D program like Maya. By the way, which is a better modeler, Maya or Lightwave (or Cinema4D)? Thanks once again.
Luminary
You'll usually use a commercial modeller to build your levels, then an in-house tool to turn the model into your own format for levels, probably pre-computing some of the things your engine would otherwise have to do at run-time. Then your engine loads the files in your own format (which should be very easy).