Create a Layer in Cocoa from a picture

Simon
Unregistered

I am quite new to programing with Cocoa(only a few Weeks).
And I want to do a begining to a simple game.
I make a NSView with the class "Picture"(a subbclasse from NSView).
First( game):
I just want to set a picture on the the NSView.
So that I can choose it¥s position.

This is not yet a real game but it will be.

Second (game):
Now I want to set some pictures on the NSView.
I want to have a grid in a array. And You will enter a Letter In the array for the right picture.
Something like this:
NSArray(("G","G","G","G")
("G","T","G","C")
("G","T","T","G"))
(In this case G will be Grass and T will be Tree)
Every picture is the size of 32*32.

I don¥t know how to set anything in NSView and I have just start to learn Object C. I have the basis for C( i have work with Php, basic, litle Java, MySQL).
Please help me how to do the first game
Quote this message in a reply
AJ Infinity
Unregistered

To center an image in the view use something like
[SOURCECODE]
/*I think this is right*/
[myNSView centerImageInView:myImage];
[/SOURCECODE]

Haven't worked with Cocoa in a while but I seem to remember something like that.
To get an image, include an image file in PB, so that it's included in your program.

Then use

[SOURCECODE]NSImage *myImage = [NSImage imageNamed:@"Tree"];[/SOURCECODE]

Note: no need to include extension, picture could be Tree.gif or Tree.jpg or even Tree.pdf Smile

Then to draw it use:

[SOURCECODE][myImage compositeToPoint:myPoint operation:NSCompositeSourceOver];

//or if you want more control
NSSize imageSize = [myImage size];
NSRect srcRect = NSMakeRect(0, 0, imageSize.width, imageSize.height);
[myImage drawInRect:myRect fromRect:srcRect operation:NSCompositeSourceOver fraction:1.0];[/SOURCECODE]

Then to draw an array you can do this, btw I think its probably best to use a standard c array, since you'll probably not use any of the benefits of multiple NSArrays.

[SOURCECODE]int x,y;