Sim Something

Quote:Originally posted by macboy
Uck. Who would program in assembly for a huge game like that? Blink

Wow that is realy weird... I don't know much about assem but I think that would be absolute HELL to code.
Quote this message in a reply
AJ Infinity
Unregistered

So the game would be fast. (Assembly is fast)

Also, 3ds max won't ever come to the Mac because it started out as the assembly app, 3D Studio DOS. :envy: Mad

I dunno much about assembly either but from my GBA gamedev test, it's fast.
Luminary
Assembly isn't fast. Well-written assembly may be faster than compiled code in certain circumstances (usually when the compiler doesn't know how to generate a particular instruction).
I'd say that assembly is faster if you are great at writing it, and know alot about the processor you are writing it for.
But then again, I'm no mega pro at assembly programming so this is just what I've heard.

"Gameplay Uber Alles. And if you can make it psychedelic too, great!" - Jeff Minter
Luminary
Almost always, if your C code contains all the information you have (for example you may have to use restrict), GCC will generate optimal code.

It's not completey fool-proof, but in my experience the reason for compiled code being slower than hand-assembled code is that the hand-assembled code makes more assumptions than the compiler can.
AJ Infinity
Unregistered

I heard that RCT was written in assembly a few months ago. I was Googling for "Rollercoaster Tycoon for Mac" and I found an old article (on MacCentral or another Mac site that reviews games) that was released some time after RCT was. It was an interview with the RCT developers. The interviewer asked when the game would come to the Mac and they said it never would because it was written in assembly. Sad but true... Sad

Since RCT's in Intel assembly, it's going to the Xbox. (recently heard about that)
griffin239
Unregistered

Overlooked Sim ideas:
SimCreator: In the beginning....