Porting Help: Input Devices

gregorypierce
Unregistered

Hi folks I am porting a game library over to the OSX platform, but I'm not exactly the best Mac programmer out there. In fact, this would be the first. I've been developing on Windows for many years, and Java for many as well. The library being ported will be open source through slashdot.org

OSX game development isn't exactly chock full of references and such, so I need some help and this looks to be the best resource to get help (so I'll most likely be back many times).

Here is the first piece of help I need. I need to find the best way to get access to the keyboard and the mouse in such a way that I can get the keys pressed from the keyboard and get the position and buttons pressed from the mouse. I have many ways to do this in Windows, but can't figure out how to do it in OSX. OSX has Carbon, Cocoa, and GameSprockets to accomplish the same job but I can't for the life of me figure out which one I should be using. GameSprockets didn't really seem to be conducive to getting multibutton mice - and I can't really see where its still supported by Apple.

But before I go on much more, please folks. Point me in the right direction.

Thanks!
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
The game sprockets are all but dead on Mac OS X.

You have 3 choices:

* Carbon -- probably feels most like Windows programming, though that may not be a good thing Wink. C interfaces to everything. Just use Carbon Events to intercept "raw key down", "raw key up" and the various mouse events. Apple has reasonably simple samples.

* Cocoa -- requires you to learn Objective C (not that that's hard). Perhaps slightly more difficult than Carbon to shoehorn into an existing framework, though. The event mechanism wasn't really designed to be run "by hand". The Omni Group has good sample code.