Cocoa - Reset Mouse Position to center of View

CactusJack
Unregistered

Cocoa First Personal Viewpoints:

First, I'm not a hard-core game programmer: I am a beginner. I'm experienced in Windows programming, but I wanted to learn Cocoa, so I deceided I'd port some Open GL tutorials to Cocoa. This is why I would like Cocoa specific help. I've learned quite a bit about Cocoa, but I've hit some snags.

My question is this: I can track the position of the mouse in the glWindow through the mouseMoved event. What I'd like to do in each render cycle, take the coordinates of the mouse from this event and use the distance from them to the center of the screen to rotate my viewpoint and then set the mouse coordinates back to the center of the screen to start over again. Does anyone have any ideas on how to do this in Cocoa?

Also, how do it make it if I push Escape, the program quits? (because if I start moving the cursor back to the center all the time, I'll never be able to muse the Application menu to quit. appreciate

One last question. Do you know how to hide the cursor?

Thanks for any help you may be able to give me. I appreciate your time!

John Baker
Quote this message in a reply
Luminary
You should never move the mouse pointer, as that would be against the HI guidelines. You should never mess with standard mouse behavior for a non-full-screen application. That's why you can't do it from Cocoa.

When you receive a mouse moved event, you can call

Code:
void CGGetLastMouseDelta( CGMouseDelta * deltaX, CGMouseDelta * deltaY );

which returns the amount the mouse moved disregarding screen bounds. This will get you the information you want.

If you do decide to go full-screen, you can hide and show the cursor using

Code:
CGDisplayErr CGDisplayHideCursor(CGDirectDisplayID display);    /* increments hide cursor count */
CGDisplayErr CGDisplayShowCursor(CGDirectDisplayID display);    /* decrements hide cursor count  */