Animation in cocoa

AndyWanKenobi
Unregistered

I'm pretty new to c-based games, having done all my development in java, so i'm not even really sure if i'm doing any of this right, especially for a game using obj-c cocoa

Right now my sprite classes are subclasses of NSView and are set as subviews of a container NSView. When I want to move them, I change their frame with setFrame, and then call setNeedsDisplay. However, I'm encountering that this isn't causing the previous position of the sprite to be painted over, so i'm left with artifacts of my sprites left on the screen.

I'm sure I need to do something to calculate that area and repaint it, but I haven't been able to figure out a good way to do it. Does anyone have any tips, or some reference that will tell me what I need to know?
Quote this message in a reply
you... have sprites... made from... NSView... WHY?!
w_reade
Unregistered

skyhawk:
Öbecause, like he said, he'sÖ pretty newÖ andÖ well, you have graphics in one, so it's fair enough to assume that it might be a useful thing to store sprites in, at least to begin with, isn't it? He's well aware he may be doing the wrong thing somewhere. It seems you know better than himÖ if so, please offer advice, not just sarky criticism.

AWK:
Um, I don't know the answer myself, but I felt like I ought to say thatÖ

I'm sure someone will offer you some help soon :-).
AndyWanKenobi
Unregistered

Yeah, I just figured that using NSView was a logical progression from using JComponent subclasses in Swing with Java. I don't have any problem with changing that, it just seemed like a logical step to make
Views are fairly cpu intensive. I dont recommend using them. What I recommend is putting each sprite in its own *window* and moving those around with setFrame:display: messages instead. Wink

ok - now back to reality.