Crystal Space

Fillbert
Unregistered

This may mean that I shouldn't be tryign to use learn CS, but I can't figure out how to build the it from the sorce. Can anyone here tell me how to build Crystal Space for OS X.1. The documentation on the site is confusing to me on how you go about building it. Please help me... thank you...

-Fillbert
Quote this message in a reply
griffin239
Unregistered

hmmm I had the instructions but never tried. There should be a thread here on the site.

Search for Crystal Space. you will find a thread I started "Crystal Space not happening"...same problems.

You have to build it from terminal..thats all I know for sure.

Good luck. Hope it works for you.
Nimrod
Unregistered

Last time I tried following the instructions for OSX, make failed to find any targets. I'm not experienced enough to fix that, and they never bothered answering when I told them, so I gave up.
Feanor
Unregistered

I have successfully built CS a couple of times, but I just deleted the directory yesterday. I don't remember the process exactly, but I believe there were two stages. Initially you have to configure the make files for your platform (it sets up the processor and other settings). Then you run the make file for Mac/OSX.

Also, you have to install some libs that don't exist already (zlib, libpng and libjpeg I think are there names, or approx). The docs give you direct links to those files, anyway.

I have never actually tried to write software that uses CS. Mac programmer interest has been really low. It doesn't help that the sample apps don't work from the Finder. I'm not sure how easy it is to use CS from CW or PB. <opinion>CS suffers from being designed in parallel with its implementation. I find it to be an intensely complicated library. We're a long way away from a really good open source 3D game develepment toolkit. I don't think that CS is going to be the answer. Then again, maybe it will just take a few more years.</opinion>

--FÎanor
griffin239