OpenGL libraries and MPW

w_reade
Unregistered

ÖhelloÖ

I'm just starting to learn OpenGL, but having some difficulty.

I use MPW as my development environment on an 8600 with OS 9. I just downloaded the OS9 OpenGL SDK from apple, and I don't know what folders to put the various files in.

I assume that the Source, Resources, Documentation and Sample Apps folders can go anywhere, but that the contents of the Headers and Libraries folders need to go somewhere special, presumably somewhere inside the Interfaces&Libraries folder.

At the moment I have the contents of the Headers folder inside Interfaces & Libraries: Interfaces: CIncludes, and that seems to work. (it doesn't claim it can't find glut.h, etc)

However, when I compile I get long red lists of unresolved references, and I suppose this means it can't find the actual code in the libraries. Am I right?

If anyone knows, please tell me where to put the librariesÖ

(or correct my misperceptionsÖ I'm well aware of my ignorance of compilers)

Thanks in advance
Quote this message in a reply
It doesn't really matter where you put the libraries, as long as when you include them in your MakeFile you use the right path to them. But if you didn't you would be getting an error about not being able to find the library.

Are you making sure to include the OpenGL libraries in your MakeFile?
BobbyWatson
Unregistered

As an example, here's my set up for compiling OpenGL apps in MPW :

I put the OpenGLLibraryStub, OpenGLMemoryStub and OpenGLUtilityStub in MPW:Interfaces&Libraries:Libraries:SharedLibraries folder, and the header files in MPW:Interfaces&Libraries:Interfaces:CIncludes . In the make files. In a makefile generated by MPW, the Libraries part looks like this :
LibFiles-PPC = "{SharedLibraries}OpenGLLibraryStub"

I also added the other libraries I mentioned earlier. Hope this helps!

BobbyWatson
w_reade
Unregistered